ICC T20 Cricket World Cup Winners List From 2007 to 2021

By Admin. Last updated 2/16/2022 1:19:55 AM. Previous || Next3 comments
ICC T20 Cricket  World Cup Winners

ICC T20 Cricket World Cup Winners

Today here in this article, we will discuss all the winners of the ICC world cup. Did you know the ICC World Cup has begun 17th October 2021 at Oman Cricket Academy Ground, and in 2007 India won the first ICC World Cup by defeating Pakistan by 5 runs margin?  

ICC T20 World Cup takes place once every two years. But last year due to Covid -19 and some changes executed by ICC there hasn't been a single T20 World Cup event held in the last five years and now cricket fans will be going to witness two T20 world in 2021 and 2022.

ICC T20 World Cup Winner 2021 Winner Australia

As we all know, Australia won the ICC T20 World Cup 2021, and the match was between tournament-best teams Australia versus New Zealand and the next upcoming 2022 T20 World Cup is going to happen in Australia.

Here is the list of winners who won the ICC T20 World from the year 2007 to 2021:


Team Who Won T20 World Cup








West Indies


Sri Lanka


West Indies




To Be Announced

ICC T20 World Cup is an international event which is controlled by International Cricket Council. The first T20 World Cup happened in South Africa in the year 2007 and the latest T20 World Cup was hosted by Dubai and Oman in 2021.

If we talked about who is the best team in T20 World, well West Indies is the only team who has won the T20 world two times first one in the year 2012 and second in 2016. India, England, Sri Lanka, and Pakistan won it only one time.

Australia (ICC T20 World Cup 2021 Winner):

ICC T20 Cricket World Cup Winner 2021 Australia.jpg

2021 T20 World Cup was begun on 17th October 2021 in Dubai and Oman. The finals were played between the two best performing teams Australia versus New Zealand on 14th November 2021. Australia defeated New Zealand by the margin of 8 Wickets and put their name on ICC T20 World Cup trophy. This was the first time that Australia took the T20 World Cup trophy to their home country. The man of the match was Mitchell Marsh from Australia.

West Indies (ICC T20 World Cup 2016 Winner):


2016 T20 World Cup won by West Indies, by giving such a tremendous performance West Indies managed to defeat England in the finals. With this victory, West Indies became the first team in the world who have 2 T20 World Cup trophies. In this world cup, Virat Kohli was the man of the series and the highest run-scorer was Tamim Iqbal.

Sri Lanka (ICC T20 World Cup 2014 Winner):


In 2014, Sri Lanka won the T20 World Cup first time by defeating India in the final. Sri Lanka Won the finals by 6 wickets from India. In this world cup, India reached in finals second time and Virat Kohli from team India won the top run-scorer and man of the series in the 2014 T20 World Cup.

West Indies (ICC T20 World Cup 2012 Winner):


In this year 2012 West Indies won the T20 World Cup first time by defeating Sri Lanka by 36 runs. West Indies also lost their first match with Australia but still managed to take the trophy to their home country. In the 2012 T20 World Cup, Australia's player Shane Watson became Man of Series, and Ajanthan Mendis Sri Lankan player was the top wicket-taker bowler in the tournament.

England (ICC T20 World Cup 2010 Winner):


In this T20 World England won the World Cup trophy in the year 2010. By this winning, England became the first team in the world who is a Non-Asian team. The final match was between the two best teams of the tournament England versus Australia and England won the match by 7 wickets. In this tournament, England lost its first match with West Indies, but after that, they managed to win all the matches and successfully grasp the T20 World Cup. England team player Kevin Pietersen became the man of the series in this world cup event.

Pakistan (ICC T20 World Cup 2009 Winner):


Luckily, Pakistan won their first T20 World this year. The match was held in England and the match was between Pakistan versus Sri Lanka. Pakistan managed to win this match by defeating Sri Lanka by 8 wickets. In this tournament, Pakistan lost their first match from England and super 8 matches against Sri Lanka, but still, anyhow they managed to win the tournament and successfully took T20 World Cup to their home country. Sri Lankan player Tillakaratne Dilshan won Man of the Series and highest run-scorer in this World Cup.

India (ICC T20 World Cup 2007 Winner):


The first edition of the T20 World Cup 2007 was won by the Indian Cricket Team under the supervision of MS Dhoni. By giving an electrifying performance team India successfully defeated Pakistan in the final match. In this year, India only lost one match from New Zealand in the super eight. Shahid Afridi from Pakistan Team was the man of the series in this World Cup event.

Related and Popular

Average: 4.9 (833 votes)
Comments Disclaimer: The responses below are not provided or commissioned by site or advertiser. These comments and responses have been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by the site moderator. It is not the site modertaor's responsibility to ensure all posts and/or questions are answered.

Leave a comment